Fighting Plastic

Keeping plastic waste from entering the oceans

Over 8 million tons of plastic waste end up in the sea every year. Especially developing countries often lack infrastructure for proper waste disposal. By 2050, there will be more plastic in the oceans than fish.

Money for plastic - this is the approach taken by the Plastic Bank. In Haiti, Indonesia, Brazil and the Philippines, people collect plastic waste. At local collection points, they can exchange it for money, food, drinking water, cell phone credit or even school fees. The project makes sure that less plastic ends up in the sea. Instead, it is recycled and turned into so-called Social Plastic, which serves as raw material for new products such as packaging.

The carbon offset is done via a Gold Standard project, a wind farm in the Philippines: www.climatepartner.com/1091 or our wind power project in Aruba: www.climatepartner.com/1040. For each compensated tonne of CO2, 10 kg of plastic waste is collected.

How do clean oceans contribute to climate protection?

The ocean stores a quarter of the CO2 from the atmosphere and even 93 percent of the heat caused by the greenhouse effect - making it a major brake on climate change. Warming, overfishing, pollutants and waste endanger this balancing function. Several initiatives prevent plastic waste from entering the sea and thus indirectly protect the climate. Because these activities do not generate vertified emission reductions, ClimatePartner supports ocean protection initiatives in combination with internationally recognized carbon offset projects. This allows for climate neutrality and ocean protection at the same time.

Where To Find

Contribution to the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

No Poverty

Members receive a fair & stable income for the plastic they collect. Plastic Bank pays additional incentives to further improve quality of life and access to life necessities.

Zero Hunger

Plastic Bank branches offer fresh food in exchange for collected plastic. Most of this food is locally sourced and carries high nutritional value.

Good Health and Well-Being

Depending on location, members can redeem plastic for first aid kits, health insurance, or other needs. Removing plastic from water supplies helps to create cleaner living environments.

Quality Education

In Haiti members can use plastic to pay for their child’s school tuition. A zero-tolerance policy on child labour is supported by Plastic Bank's commitment to keep children in school.

Clean Water and Sanitation

Members can exchange plastic for clean drinking water. Corporate partners help to provide soap, shampoo and other sanitation products to the member communities. The removal of plastic from waterways reduces the toxicity of local water supplies.

Affordable and Clean Energy

Members can exchange plastic for portable solar-powered lamps, which double as battery packs that can charge phones and other electronics.

Decent Work and Economic Growth

Plastic Bank has created jobs for 2,300 collectors in the world's poorest countries, enforcing strict policies to uphold labour and human rights. It seeks local partners to transport, process, and ship Social Plastic to inject maximum value into the local economy.

Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

In regions that lack integrated disposal infrastructure, Plastic Bank connects local transporters, plastic processors, freighters, and other industry members to create a circular recycling industry.

Reduced Inequalities

Low barriers to entry allow any adult in need to participate the program. They can open a secure digital banking account - often the first bank account in their lifetime - without fear of corruption or theft. This financial inclusion is key to bridging the gap between the developed world and the impoverished.

Sustainable Cities and Communities

Sustainable, circular economies replace the linear, wasteful models currently in place in developing regions. Redefining the waste strategies of these communities is key to unlocking other forms of sustainable development.

Responsible Consumption and Production

Social Plastic is incorporated into the supply chains of multinational companies to reduce the demand for virgin plastic and alleviate the environmental effects related to plastic production. Consumers can identify the Social Plastic logo on product packaging to help guide responsible consumption choices.

Climate Action

Healthy oceans are vital to stabilizing the climate; the wind park in the Philippines generates verified Gold Standard emissions reductions.

Life below Water

More than 1,000 tons of plastic collected in 2018 that not entered the oceans, thus protecting marine life including microorganisms and threatened species.

Partnerships for the Goals

Plastic Bank has been recognized at the United Nations Climate Change Conference as a leader in upholding the Sustainable Development Goals and helping other organizations meet their SDG-based goals.

Fighting Plastic

Die Plastikflut aufhalten

Über 8 Millionen Tonnen Plastikmüll landen jedes Jahr im Meer. Gerade in Entwicklungsländern fehlt oft die Infrastruktur zur richtigen Entsorgung. 2050 wird es in den Ozeanen mehr Plastik als Fisch geben.

Geld gegen Plastik – nach diesem Ansatz handelt die Plastic Bank. In Haiti, Indonesien, Brasilien und auf den Philippinen sammeln Menschen Plastikmüll. In lokalen Sammelstellen können sie diesen gegen Geld, Lebensmittel, Trinkwasser, Handy-Guthaben oder sogar Schulgebühren eintauschen. Das Projekt sorgt dafür, dass weniger Plastik ins Meer gelangt. Stattdessen wird es recycelt und zu sogenanntem Social Plastic verarbeitet, welches als Rohmaterial für neue Produkte, wie etwa Verpackungen, dient.

Der CO2-Ausgleich erfolgt über ein Gold Standard-Klimaschutzprojekt über unseren Partner ClimatePartner. Für jede ausgeglichene Tonne CO2 werden 10 kg Plastikmüll gesammelt.

Wie funktioniert Klimaschutz mit plastikfreien Ozeanen?

Der Ozean speichert ein Viertel des CO2 aus der Atmosphäre und sogar 93 Prozent der Wärme aus dem Treibhauseffekt – er ist damit eine wesentliche Bremse des Klimawandels. Erwärmung, Überfischung, Schadstoffe und Müll gefährden diese ausgleichende Funktion. Verschiedene Initiativen verhindern, dass Plastikmüll ins Meer gelangt und schützen so indirekt das Klima. Weil dabei keine zertifizierten Emissionsminderungen entstehen, unterstützen wir Meeresschutzinitiativen in Kombination mit international anerkannten Klimaschutzprojekten über unseren Partner ClimatePartner. So sind Meeresschutz und Klimaneutralität gleichzeitig möglich.

Where To Find

Beitrag zu den UN-Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs)

Keine Armut

Faires Einkommen für gesammeltes Plastik, zusätzlich Versorgung mit lebensnotwendigen Gütern.

Kein Hunger

Die Bevölkerung bezieht Lebensmittel im Austausch gegen gesammeltes Plastik.

Gesundheit und Wohlergehen

Je nach Standort können die Sammler ihr Plastik für Erste-Hilfe-Koffer, Krankenversicherung oder andere Dinge einlösen. Eine saubere Umwelt ohne Plastikmüll bedeutet zudem gesündere Lebensbedingungen.

Hochwertige Bildung

In Haiti können Mitglieder mit Plastik den Schulbesuch ihrer Kinder finanzieren. Die Plastik Bank toleriert keine Kinderarbeit und engagiert sich dafür, dass alle Kinder eine Schule besuchen.

Sauberes Wasser und Sanitäreinrichtungen

Die Plastiksammler können Plastik gegen Trinkwasser eintauschen. Unternehmenspartner helfen, den Mitgliedsgemeinden Seife, Shampoo und andere Sanitärprodukte zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Bezahlbare und Saubere Energie

Mitglieder können Kunststoff gegen tragbare Solarlampen austauschen, die gleichzeitig als Akku zum Aufladen von Telefonen und anderen elektronischen Geräten dienen.

Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

Die Plastic Bank hat 2.300 Arbeitsplätze in den ärmsten Ländern der Welt geschaffen und wacht über Arbeits- und Menschenrechte.

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur

In Regionen mit mangelnder Entsorgungsinfrastruktur verbindet die Plastic Bank Spediteure, Kunststoffverarbeiter, Frachter und baut eine Recycling-Kreislaufwirtschaft auf.

Weniger Ungleichheiten

Jeder bedürftige Erwachsene kann an dem Programm teilnehmen und ein digitales Bankkonto eröffnen, das sicher vor Korruption und Diebstahl ist. Für viele ist es das erste Bankkonto in ihrem Leben. Die finanzielle Eingliederung hilft, die Kluft zwischen arm und reich zu verringern.

Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden

Eine nachhaltige Kreislaufwirtschaft ersetzen lineare, verschwenderische Modelle, die in vielen Entwicklungsregionen vorherrschen. Das Überdenken der Abfallstrategien in den Gemeinden ermöglicht eine nachhaltigere Gesamtentwicklung.

Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion

Social Plastic wird in die Lieferketten multinationaler Unternehmen integriert, um die Nachfrage nach neuem Plastik zu reduzieren und die mit dessen Produktion verbundenen Umweltauswirkungen zu mildern. Das Social Plastic Logo auf Produkten hilft Verbrauchern dabei, verantwortungsvolle Konsumentscheidung zu treffen.

Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

Gesunde Ozeane sind bedeutend für die Stabilisierung des Klimas; Gold-Standard-verifizierten CO2-Einsparungen über den Windpark auf den Philippinen.

Leben unter Wasser

Durch den Ausgleich einer Tonne CO2 werden 10 kg Plastik gesammelt. Dies entspricht ca. 500 Plastikflschen. So schont das Projekt Meereslebewesen, Mikroorganismen und bedrohte Arten.

Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Die Plastic Bank wurde auf der Klimakonferenz der Vereinten Nationen als führend bei der Einhaltung der Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklung und der Unterstützung anderer Organisationen bei der Erreichung der Ziele anerkannt.